Your Data Usage

 

I just got a text from you about reaching a 35GB data limit. What does it mean?
It looks like you’ve used 35GB or more of data overall in this payment cycle. After 35GB, you still get unlimited data but may at times notice reduced speeds in areas with network congestion.

How can my use be 35GB when my plan has much less data?
At MetroPCS you can actually get a lot more high speed data than you pay for in your plan. For instance, MetroPCS’ Music Unlimited feature lets you stream unlimited music on great music streaming services like Apple Music, iHeartRadio, Pandora and others without using the high speed data in your plan.

But I pay for unlimited data
At MetroPCS unlimited is truly unlimited. No overages or data caps apply on our network. Data prioritization will only be noticeable when you access a congested tower and have used over 35GB of data in a particular payment cycle. You will continue to get unlimited high speed data on your smartphone when you aren’t accessing a congested tower. In that way it’s different from data throttling, which slows you down for the remainder of your payment cycle regardless of network conditions, all the time.

What happens if I do access a congested tower after I’ve used 35GB of data?
In the vast majority of times and places, you will notice little if any difference. In the small number of times or locations where there’s network congestion, you may notice reduced data speeds. This experience is due to our data prioritization practice, which prioritizes customers who use more than 35GB of data in a single payment cycle after other customers. This practice helps to optimize overall network performance and maintain a quality service experience for as many customers as possible. Your data usage resets at the beginning of your next payment cycle, so this practice will only apply until that time.

Why does MetroPCS do this?
Our goal is to provide the best possible experience for as many customers as possible. Data prioritization is one way we accomplish this, especially at times and locations with network congestion. It’s described in more detail in MetroPCS’ Open Internet Disclosures here. Our policy is also in line with common industry standards for network management, which are designed optimize network performance and service. Every wireless provider maintains policies that govern network traffic management because there is a fixed amount of network capacity available at each cell tower.

I thought music streaming didn’t count against my data. Is it counted for prioritization?
For plans with MetroPCS’ Music Unlimited feature, music streaming doesn’t count against your paid amount of high-speed data, but it does count toward the 35GB and application of the prioritization practice.

How much slower will my data speeds be?
The actual speeds may vary depending on the location and the number of people trying to use the network at the same time. For more information visit our Open Internet Disclosures here.

Does tethering usage also count towards the 35GB?
Yes. Data usage on your smartphone as well as data usage through Smartphone Mobile HotSpot (tethering) both count toward the 35GB threshold.

Where can I get more detail on my overall data usage?
Visit your MetroPCS MyAccount page.

What can I do to avoid hitting 35GB?
Set your automatic updating of apps, podcasts and file downloads to run off Wi-Fi only. Make sure to connect to Wi-Fi and update your applications and system periodically. You can also monitor your data usage by checking your MetroPCS MyAccount page as discussed above.

How is prioritization different from the reduced speeds I experience when I run out of my plan data?
Data prioritization will only be noticeable when you access a busy tower and have used over 35GB of data in a particular payment cycle. In that way it’s different from the reduced speeds you experience when you run out of your plan data, which lasts for the remainder of your payment cycle regardless of network conditions.

What if I don’t want to be impacted by this policy? Can I pay more to avoid this practice?
No. This is how we manage the network experience for all customers. Most users will not even likely notice a difference in experience.